Three Men & A Gym: A Parable… well an attempt at one

MuscleThree men were relaxing at a smoothie shop after one of their regular visits to the gym. The first man declared, “Do you know why I joined this gym? Since I’ve been going the past couple of years, I’ve lost 40 pounds of fat and I’m so much stronger. I’ve never looked or felt so good in my life. They have the newest equipment and play the music I like. This gym is the best.”

The second man nodded in agreement, “Do you know why I joined this gym? Because in the past couple of years since attending, I’ve been working out with a personal trainer. I know all about most of the muscle groups and which exercises and equipment strengthens them. I’m learning so much about various foods and how to maximize workout and diet to maintain peak fitness. This is the strongest I’ve felt in my entire life. This gym is the best.”

The third man looked at the other two men and stated, “Do you know why I joined this gym? Several years ago I was in the hospital, not sure if I would see tomorrow. I realized then that my wife, kids, friends, and others in my life needed me. I joined this gym so I could be healthy in order to be with them and serve them as long as I can.”

Leave a Reply

