Still Thinking about Scripture

Since posting on the Orthodox view of Scripture, I have found myself thinking a lot about the subject. Also, thanks to those who commented on that post. The comments have posed some questions for me that I’m hoping to resolve over time.To move forward in this process of resolution, I will be posting responses and thoughts to a book my friend, David, gave me to read. It’s called, The Mystery of Christ, by Fr. John Behr. Fr. John teaches courses in patristics, dogmatics and scriptural exegesis at St. Vladimir’s Orthodox Theological Seminary.I began reading the book casually, but I’ve decided to start over and use Fr. John’s book as the material for some blog posts over the next few weeks. His book challenges us to approach theology as the early disciples did — by viewing Scripture retrospectively with Christ’s passion as the primary hermeneutic. He writes in the preface:

“But it is a stubborn fact, or at least is presented this way in the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, and Luke, that the one born of Mary was not known by the disciples to be the Son of God until after the Passion, his crucifixion and resurrection… Thus, to speak of the ‘Incarnation,’ to say that the one born of the Virgin is the Son of God, is an interpretation made only in the light of the Passion.”

I have enjoyed and have been challenged by what I have read so far in Fr. John’s book, so I’m looking forward to blogging my responses and thoughts to it over time. If you would like to read a synopsis of the book, there is a three-part review at Oozerdoxie (a collection of Orthodox bloggers who also post at theooze.com ):PART ONEPART TWOPART THREE

 Subscribe through Feedburner

One thought on “Still Thinking about Scripture

  1. Jason, its so sad that we got locked in the Scriptural debate over inerrancy in the last generation. We really missed the boat. You are hitting at the issues here that we need to be considering. We need a new way of addressing some of the fundamental problems around interpretation and authority.

Leave a Reply

