Signs of the Time

I was thinking the other day about how the gadgets we possess and how we use them really show a person’s age…. I like to think I have found a more mature use that protects my body from any foolish impulse to imitate the dancing on an iPod commercial.

I was thinking the other day about how the gadgets we possess and how we use them really show a person’s age. I received two gadgets as gifts this year, both which substantiate the fact that I’m now in the upper 30-somethings.

The first was an iPod. I know, I know. iPods are the new status symbol of the young hip musically- dominated pop culture. But, believe it or not, I have very little music on mine. (Plus I can’t dance like those people in the iPod commercials.) Rather, I have almost 12 gigs of seminary lectures which I listen to daily at work. Each day, the likes of N.T. Wright, Gordon Fee, Eugene Peterson and others are my companions, challenging me to think through God’s Story and my place in it. Those much younger than I would view such use of this gadget as a complete waste. I like to think I have found a more mature use that protects my body from any foolish impulse to imitate the dancing on an iPod commercial. (Sheeesh! I must be old.)

The other gadget I received was one of those new electric nose-hair trimmers. Every time I use it on my eyebrows, ears and nose, I’m reminded of how my body is changing. Pretty picture, huh? But believe it or not, this has become a symbolic reminder of how quickly I’m rushing in the river of God’s Story. Although I am an eternal being in Christ, the phase of my life on earth is moving very quickly.

One thought on “Signs of the Time

  1. Funny, how we age the hair starts sprouting in certain places and stops in others….. I see how short our time is when I look at the kids. They grow up so fast.

Leave a Reply

