I’m on vacation this week

I’m on vacation this week so I’ve had a couple of days to think about what I did on Sunday. On Sunday, I announced that when the new senior pastor arrives at our church, Mark and I and our families would be leaving staff to begin a new kind of Christian community. I couldn’t believe how nervous I was before the sermon. I was literally shaking as the worship team and I prayed.

Well, the deed is done. It’s now public and a new phase of the journey begins.

This entire endeavor goes against my grain. I’m not a pioneer. I don’t like risk. I have faith, but I thrive in a stable environment and do well in developing existing systems, not inventing new ones.

So you may be asking, “What in the world are you doing?” Trust me, I’ve been asking myself that question for the last month. All I know is that something deeper than me compels me to pioneer, to risk, to explore. I’ll share about it tomorrow with a little more depth. Until then, blessings.

Leave a Reply

